The Stages of Caregiving



There have been countless articles written on the stages of decline for those with dementia, but very little given to the stages caregivers go through while dealing with a disease like LBD. Recently, one of my support groups worked together to organize a description of the stages a typical caregiver goes through during the years of caregiving duties. It was difficult to separate emotions from actual stages, but the list below seemed to fit most of the participants. It was agreed that (as with the stages of grief) it’s possible to bounce back and forth between some of the stages and to experience two stages simultaneously, particularly the last two.

Stage One: Confusion

The caregiver knows something is wrong, but doesn’t have a diagnosis yet. For those with Lewy Body Dementia, this stage often lasts a year or more as the caregiver and their loved one sees several doctors before finally finding one that offers a diagnosis. Sometimes, the caregiver loses faith in the medical community and begins searching for answers on her own. Emotions often felt are: fear, frustration, anger

Stage Two: Shock

The point the caregiver discovers their loved one has Lewy Body Dementia (or another dementia) either through a doctor’s diagnosis or from doing their own research. The realization of the dramatic changes that will affect their lives can cause panic, fear, anger, and grief. This stage usually lasts anywhere from a few moments to a few months.

Stage Three: Searching

Once the shock of diagnosis wears off, the caregiver kicks into an attack mode, searching for information, treatments, etc. They often join support groups at this time. This stage can last for several months. Emotions often felt: Fear, panic, grief.

Stage Four: Denial

Medications are started or the fluctuations associated with Lewy kick in and their loved one seems to improve. The caregiver begins doubting the diagnosis. Maybe the doctors were wrong? Maybe their loved one has Lymes disease, or a vitamin deficiency? The caregiver will often try alternate treatments or insist on testing for other conditions. If more testing does not provide a different diagnosis, this stage lasts until the symptoms begin manifesting more strongly and the caregiver has no choice but accept the diagnosis. Emotions: hope, relief

Stage Five: Engagement

At this point, the caregiver is forced to accept that the diagnosis was correct and tackles active caregiving. This stage is usually the longest and can last years, depending on the rate of progression for their loved one’s illness. The duties of caregiving are minor at first, but eventually morph into a full time job and the caregiver begins to feel isolated and exhausted. Emotions: Anger, loneliness, determination, jealousy toward those who have normal lives.

Stage Six: Crisis

This is the most critical stage for caregivers and is suffered during the point when their loved one is at their worst. Exhaustion- both physical and mental- begins to take its toll. The caregiver’s emotional state becomes fragile and they wonder how much longer they can survive. The caregiver often feels guilt for wishing the ordeal would end. This stage lasts until the caregiver either gets help, places their loved one in a facility or their loved one declines to the point where they are sleeping most of the day.  Emotions often felt: anger, depression, anxiety, guilt

Stage Seven: Acceptance

“It is what it is.”

After getting help in the form of hiring aides, placing their loved one in a care facility, or the loved one declines to an easier state of care, the caregiver settles in for the long haul. This stage is usually associated with a plateau in the loved ones condition. The caregiver has adjusted to the caregiving lifestyle and it has become the new “normal” in their life. They often begin searching out ways to get relief from the stress of their duties. The help they’ve obtained allows them to reconnect with friends or other activities that allow them to begin rebuilding their lives. They long for a life free from caregiving duties. More on that can be found here Emotions often felt: sadness, resignation, anger, depression, guilt.

Stage Eight: Anticipatory Grief

This stage comes when the loved one has declined to the point that death could occur at any time. The caregiver grieves for the passing of their loved one even though they are still living. With this stage often comes intensified guilt for wanting the situation to end. The caregiver is torn between relief for the end of the journey, and grief for losing their loved one. More information on Anticipatory Grief can be found here  and here. Emotions often felt: deep sadness, guilt, active grieving.

Stage Nine: Grief

The death of their loved one ends the caregiving duties, and the caregiver then begins the stages of grief found here, however, since the caregiver has been grieving for a period of years prior to that actual death, they usually reach the acceptance stage more quickly than those dealing with a sudden death scenario.


Not all will go through each stage or will go through them in the same order. It’s also possible that a caregiver will cycle through different stages or return to one as the condition of their loved one changes. For example, I personally never went through denial as I had figured out my husband’s diagnosis two years before the doctor finally confirmed it. It’s also possible for some of the stages to overlap. I began feeling anticipatory grief during the acceptance stage, though it intensified as my husband declined.

Another way to explain the journey can be found here.




*Feel free to share this post if you feel it might help others gain a better understanding of the caregiving journey.

*If you’d like to follow this blog (it’s free) click on the follow button on the right side of this page and you’ll receive an email whenever there’s a new post. You can unfollow any time you wish.

*If you’d like to see past posts, go to the top of this page and click the “home” button and scroll down, or go to the “categories” on the right side of the page. There are also buttons at the top for helpful links, and other information.

*I’m also a published fiction author. If you’d like to see my book list, more can be found here.














5 responses »

  1. Lisa I can’t believe how accurate you are in the stages of caregiving. I felt I was reading about me. I am now between stage six and seven I’ve reached my limit of part time caregiving and waiting for lo to be placed in mc facility. We have a room just have to get a move in date. At first I was very anxious about the transition. How will it affect ric, will he go downhill etc. but now I’m at what will be will be, this needs to happen now. Again I say you are a wonderful writer. I hope you get to publish these articles somehow.


    • Thank you, Barb. I’m glad these articles help in some way. I might publish them someday for those who’d rather download a book than search through a website. Good luck on the placement. It’s a tough decision, but I wouldn’t have survived without it. I was at the point that I simply couldn’t do it any longer.


  2. Pingback: for when you want to run away

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s